origin-du-gout

THE ORIGINS OF TASTE

There are many ways to judge a wine or a champagne. But these days, there are other essential criteria such as traceability and provenance. That’s why Valentin Leflaive Champagne, despite benefiting from the name of a great family, has also been given a code.

ET CA 15 50

More than just a name, a code

ORIGIN echoes the wine house’s state of mind. Each cuvée has its own characteristics. While the letters express the terroir, the numbers indicate the year of the base and dosage. This modern approach underlines the assertiveness of a new player in the champagne sector – Valentin Leflaive – which is all about transparency.

selection-des-selections-champagne

The pick of the crop

The plot-by-plot approach is applied down to the smallest detail. Beyond choosing a single varietal to make one cuvée, the decision was taken to work with specific plots, those with the best orientation, those destined to reveal the best of the Chardonnay and Pinot Noir grapes.

CET CA 15 50

Noble origins

The careful selection of varietal and plot is identified by the first letters on the label. CA means that the grapes in the cuvée CA/15/40 grew on the rich chalk soils of the superb plots of Cramant and Avize Premiers Crus. The vintage is given by the first two numbers, in this case 2015, the year the base wine was blended.

brut-leflaive

The world of Brut

Long-ignored, the dosage is today seen as key information when choosing and understanding a champagne. To guide the consumer, Valentin Leflaive cuvées give this information in the last two digits of the code. In CA/15/40, 40 refers to 4.0g of sugar per liter, corresponding to an extra brut.
OUR CHAMPAGNES

origin
origin

origin-du-gout

Aux origines du goût

Il y a bien des façons de juger un Vin ou un Champagne. Et de nos jours, de nouveaux critères sont essentiels, comme la traçabilité et la provenance. Si le Champagne Valentin Leflaive hérite d’un grand nom de famille qu’il affiche fièrement, il s’habille aussi d’un code.

ET CA 15 50

Plus qu’un Nom, un code

ORIGIN signe l’état d’esprit de la Maison. Chaque cuvée a ses caractères ; alors que les lettres expriment le terroir, les chiffres illustrent les années de base et le dosage. Cette approche moderne affirme la volonté d’un nouvel acteur en Champagne, un Valentin Leflaive qui joue la transparence.

selection-des-selections-champagne

La sélection des sélections

L’approche parcellaire est poussée dans les moindres détails. Plus encore que de choisir un unique cépage pour réaliser une cuvée, des parcelles bien particulières ont été sélectionnées, les plus destinées à révéler le meilleur du chardonnay et du pinot noir.

CET CA 15 50

Des lettres de noblesse

La sélection minutieuse du cépage et de sa parcelle est identifiée par les premières lettres de l’étiquette. CA signifie que les raisins de la cuvée CA/15/40 ont vu le jour sur les superbes parcelles de Cramant et Avize 1ers Crus. L’année des vendanges est donnée par les deux premiers chiffres. Ici, 2015, année de l’assemblage de base.

brut-leflaive

Un monde de Brut

Bien longtemps mis de côté, le dosage est aujourd’hui une information essentielle pour comprendre et choisir un Champagne. Pour mieux se repérer, les cuvées Valentin Leflaive l’affichent dès l’étiquette grâce aux deux derniers chiffres du code. Dans CA/15/40, 40 fait référence à 4,0g de sucre par litre et représente ainsi un Extra Brut.
NOS CHAMPAGNES

origin
origin